Rustic American Style

The other day some of my friends asked me why I love America so much.  I think the answer lies in the pictures above.  We are in such an eclectic country where the working man often wins.  That’s about the last time I talk about the Protestant Work Ethic, but I think it’s why I love the USA.  I love everything americana and how simple and elegant it can be, contrasted to all of Europe where gold plating and tall ceilings showed your wealth.  People back home, I think, are wealthy in their expressions.  My friend Danielle said that she is sick of Europe because everyone is the same, everyone wears one of three neutral colors and complains when it is 55 degrees out.  I love America because the summers are humid where I am, and dry where my friends are, I love that we were the renegade country that is now constantly in the spotlight and I love that it’s perfectly acceptable for two adults to swing on a swing in an expansive backyard.  I love that we can be happy and we can tap into our past without it being pretentious.  I will be home in less than two months and I’m getting excited.

The NYT, via ginny branch

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

